Kogi gov poll: INEC deploys three national commissioners, additional RECs


The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, has approved the deployment of three of the commission’s national commissioners and seven Resident Electoral Commissioners to Kogi State. Mr Ahmed Biambo, Head, Voter Education and Publicity Department, in Lokoja office of the INEC, announced this to News Agency of Nigeria on Monday.

He mentioned the three national commissioners to include Mr Mohammed Haruna, Mr Solomon Soyebi and retired AVM Ahmed Mu’azu. According to him, the affected RECs are Malam Ibrahim Abdullahi, Prof. Riskuwa Sheu and Mr Emeka Ononamadu from Bauchi State, Kano State and Enugu States respectively. Biambo said that the three resident electoral commissioners had arrived in Lokoja earlier to join the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. James Apam, preparatory to the state governorship election on November 16.

He said that the other four Resident Electoral Commissioners will arrive in the state on November 9 to join their colleagues. They are Dr. Goshe Yilwatda, (REC, Benue State), Mr Sam Olumeku (REC, Lagos State), Mr Obo Effanga, (REC, Rivers State) and Malam Umaru Ibrahim (REC, Gombe State). He said that they were deployed to strengthen staff on ground to conduct a free, fair and credible election.

He also assured the people that their vote would count during the election but urged them to be peaceful and avoid negative actions before, during and after the election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here