UPDATED: Kano Assembly passes re-submitted Emirate Bill


The re-submitted Kano Emirates Council Bill has been passed into law by the Kano State House of Assembly. The bill seeks to break the Kano Emirates into five – Kano, Bichi, Gaya, Rank, and Karate.

The bill was transmitted to the Assembly last Monday, was read for the third time on Thursday morning and passed into law with minor alteration. Ganduje resubmitted a fresh bill after a High Court nullified emirates councils and emirs earlier established in May 2019.

In the judgement, the court ruled that due process was not followed in the creation of the earlier emirates and the appointment of emirs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here