Many European countries set to be exempt from quarantine


Ministers are due to finalise details of a series of “travel corridors” so people arriving into the UK on certain routes will not need to quarantine. Most of Western Europe is due to be on an initial list of exempt countries.

The countries expected to be exempt include France, Italy, Spain, Greece, Belgium, Germany, Norway, the Netherlands, Turkey and Finland. Portugal will probably not be included after a rise in the number of new cases in and around Lisbon.

Sweden is also unlikely to be on the list because the infection rate there is higher than in the UK. A travel corridor would mean that two people travelling in both directions between two countries would not have to self-isolate after they travel.

The initial list of destinations exempt from the quarantine is expected to take effect early next month. Work is also on-going to see if a travel corridor is possible with Australia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here