JUST IN: PSC approves appointment of Frank Mba, Bala Ciroma as DIGs


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs) Frank Mba and Bala Ciroma as Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs). This was contained in a statement by the PSC spokesperson, Ikechukwu Ani, on Friday.

According to him, DIG Ciroma will replace DIG Ali Janga who has retired from Service and had represented the North-East geopolitical zone in the Police Management Team. “DIG Ciroma, the most senior Officer from the zone will henceforth represent the zone. DIG Mba will represent the South East zone and replace retired DIG John Amadi who before his retirement represented the zone,” the statement said.

The commission also approved the promotion of 14 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) to the substantive rank of Commissioners. The PSC said these decisions were highpoints of the 21st Plenary Meeting of the Commission presided over by its Chairman, Solomon Arase, who is a former Inspector General of Police, and attended by all the members of the commission, including the Permanent Secretary/ Secretary to the commission, Dr. (Mrs) Ifeoma Adaora Anyanwutaku.

The new AIGs are CP Abubakar Lawal, CP Alhassan Aminu, CP Abdul Umar, CP Shettima Zannah, CP Ebong Eyibio Ebong, CP Adepoju Ayiinde Ilori, and CP Okon Okon Effiong. Others are CP Echeng Eworo Echeng, CP Susan Ukpanukiema Horsfall, CP Bankole Lanre Sikiru, CP Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju, CP Sani Gwarzo, and CP Odama Paul Ojeka. The 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to the rank of Commissioners are DCP Abibo Deinma Reuben, DCP Thomas Abraham Nabhoni, DCP Wakil Abdul Salamai, DCP Enyinnaya Inonachi, DCP Ronke Nurat Okunade, and DCP Adekunle Ismail Olusokan.

They also include DCP Hassan Abdu Yabnet, DCP Festus Chinedu Oko, DCP Aminu Baba Raji, DCP Omolara Ibidun Oluntola, DCP Akoh Benedict Gabriel, DCP Alamutu Abiodun Mustapha, DCP Bafda Magaji Jahun, DCP Ahmadu Tijani Abdullahi, and DCP Mohamned Mu’azu. Others are DCP Bretet Emmanuel Simon, DCP Ihebom M Chukuma, DCP Shettima Mohamned Qurtu, DCP Olatokunbo Maxwell Olabisi, DCP Yusuf Mohammed Lawal, DCP Monica Leo, and DCP Abaniwonda Surajudeen Olufemi.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 24 Assistant Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here